Home News
DeakinCREATE recognised with win at AFR Higher Ed Awards

DeakinCREATE has won prestigious recognition for its work supporting refugee and asylum seeker candidates into education and employment.

Deakin has scooped the pool at the prestigious Australian Financial Review (AFR) Higher Education Awards, winning the Equity and Opportunity and Community Engagement and accolades, while former Vice-Chancellor Emeritus Professor Jane den Hollander AO was honoured with the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Centre for Refugee Employment, Advocacy, Training and Education (CREATE), based in the Deakin Business School, received the Equity and Opportunity award for its support of people from refugee backgrounds to rebuild their careers. AllPlay Learn, an initiative of the Deakin School of Psychology, creates new pathways for school and community inclusion for children with disabilities.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin said Deakin's shortlisting and wins across multiple award categories was recognition of the depth of talent and innovation in its research teams and programs.

"I warmly congratulate each of Deakin's award winners, nominees and, of course, the incredible teams behind AllPlay Learn and CREATE, who bring such innovative programs to life. Their work is industry- and world-leading and shows great promise for addressing current and future challenges," Professor Martin said.

CREATE co-founders Associate Dean (International) Professor Alexander Newman, and Deakin Business School research fellow Dr Karen Dunwoodie, said the award was a testament to the passion and hard work of the project team.

"CREATE assists people from a refugee background to access higher education and obtain employment, supported by our innovative research-based employment programs and career clinics. We help produce much of the material that helps refugees on their employment journey," Professor Newman said.

"This is the first AFR award for the Faculty of Business and Law, and on behalf of our many colleagues involved, we'd like to thank the many donors who have supported CREATE, including the Helen Macpherson Smith Trust, the Bennelong Foundation and numerous individual donors."

The annual AFR Higher Education Awards celebrate the contribution of higher education to Australian prosperity and quality of life in ten categories. The judging panel includes the editor of the AFR, current and former vice-chancellors and chancellors and other experts in higher education.


Adapted from Deakin media release Deakin scoops pool at AFR Higher Education Awards

Posted in News